GOWA Honors Top 2023 Georgia Bucks

Capt. Mack Farr and Capt. Judy Helmey inducted into Hunting and Fishing Hall of Fame.

John Trussell | May 30, 2024

Best in the typical firearms category was Robb Leckie’s Laurens County buck that netted 161 4/8.

The best bucks of Georgia’s 2023-24 deer season were recognized at the Georgia Outdoor Writers Association (GOWA) annual conference, held in Milledgeville April 18-21.

The big buck contest is sponsored by Glock, Ag Pro and Southern Company. Retired DNR biologist Bill Cooper handles the administrative details, while the  Georgia Outdoor Writers Association provides the press, venue and plaques, assisted by GON.

If you find a trophy buck in your sights this fall… who knows, maybe you’ll be a guest of honor at next year’s annual GOWA conference and awards ceremony!

The best non-typical firearms buck was Josh Grantham’s Irwin County deer that netted 182 3/8.


Dayton Cannon won for non-typical archery buck for his Bleckley County deer that netted 187 4/8


Grant Bailey won for typical archery with a Gwinnett County buck that netted 174 7/8.


Saltwater Capt. Judy Helmey, of Savannah, and Lanier Capt. Mack Farr, of Buford, were voted into the Georgia Outdoor Writers Association Fishing and Hunting Hall of Fame.

Become a GON subscriber and enjoy full access to ALL of our content.

New monthly payment option available!


Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.