GON’s Coyote Cull Results And Winners For 2014

Great response as first-time coyote hunters and trappers take to the woods during fawning and turkey-hatch time.

GON Staff | June 26, 2014

“I just want to thank y’all for doing this. I need some help.”

Those were the firsts words out of Coyote Cull drawing winner Dennis Shaw, a forester from Shiloh. Well… they were the first words right after he said “Hallelujah!” about six times when he was told he’d won a gun.

“I killed one this morning (June 20) using a fawn bleat,” Dennis said as we talked about the Mossberg MMR 5.55mm Tactical Rifle he’d just won. “I’m in the woods every day, and I’m telling you, we’ve got to get after these things,” Dennis said. “Right now is the time. The fawns are so small, the coyotes are just picking ’em off.”

Prize 1: Mossberg MMR 5.56mm Tactical Rifle The winner of the Mossberg tactical rifle is Dennis Shaw, of Shiloh, who entered with a Harris County coyote.

Dennis said he’s killed four coyotes since the contest was announced in May.

“I keep my stuff with me in the truck,” he said. “We need more people getting them, so thank y’all for doing this.”

The response to GON’s Coyote Cull and its simple theme—it’s time to do something—has been terrific. We’ve heard from outdoor radio hosts in other states, and manufacturers as far away as Oregon who want to take part next year.

We’ve also heard from quite a few first-time coyote hunters and trappers. That, simply, was the goal of the Coyote Cull.

We know this alone won’t solve the overall issue of the coyote invasion into Georgia over the past two decades, but from this little incentive, there are 97 fewer yotes eating fawns and poults.

Bottom line—coyotes aren’t native to Georgia, and they have a significant impact on deer, turkey, rabbits and other critters.

Let’s all take Dennis Shaw’s advice—stay after them.

Prize 2: 45-Quart YETI Tundra CoolerThe winner of the YETI Tundra 45 is Steve Phillips, of Marietta, who entered with a Cobb County coyote.

Prize 3: $200 Gift Card at Franklin Gun ShopThe winner of the $200 gift certificate to spend at Franklin Gun Shop is Kyle Ricks, of Adrian, who entered with a Johnson County coyote.

Hunters and Trappers in the Coyote Cull

Barrow Co. – Bill Cartmill
Bartow Co. – Brian Groce
Bartow Co. – Brett Ingram
Bartow Co. – Darrell Morgan
Bartow Co. – Darrell Morgan
Bibb Co. – Kevin Payne
Brantley Co. – John Lee
Burke Co. – Gary Jurenovich
Butts Co. – Richard Neely
Butts Co. – Richard Neely
Butts Co. – Bobby Peurifoy
Carroll Co. – Gene Fender
Carroll Co. – David Todd
Cherokee Co. – Lance Tucker
Clinch Co. – Ron Witcher
Clinch Co. – Steve Wooten
Cobb Co. – Steve Phillips
Columbia Co. – Randall Cheek
Columbia Co. – Donny Way
Coweta Co. – Travis LeMay
Coweta Co. – Kenny Olmstead
Dawson Co. – Nathan Williams
Decatur Co. – John Ethridge
Dooly Co. – Justin Smith
Dougherty Co. – Sherwin Smith
Douglas Co. – Daniel Wynn
Effingham Co. – Mike Rahn
Fannin Co. – Ricky Landress
Fayette Co. – David Myers
Franklin Co. – Travis Quarles
Fulton Co. – Steve Knight
Gilmer Co. – Seth Weaver
Gilmer Co. – Seth Weaver
Gordon Co. – Brady Carney
Habersham Co. – Adam Carver
Habersham Co. – Brad Davidson
Habersham Co. – Donny Kimbrell
Habersham Co. – Clarence Mason
Habersham Co. – JR McCay
Hall Co. – Tom Smith
Hart Co. – Travis Ballard
Harris Co. – Dennis Shaw
Henry Co. – Joey Dobbs
Jackson Co. – Brandon Hughes
Jackson Co. – Brandon Hughes
Jasper Co. – Ryan McQueen
Jenkins Co. – Brent Conner
Johnson Co. – Kyle Ricks
Jones Co. – Bob Harrison
Lamar Co. – Dennis Watson
Lee Co. – John Ethridge
Lumpkin Co. – Donald Ravan
Lumpkin Co. – Donald Ravan
Lumpkin Co. – Lee Stover
Lumpkin Co. – Lee Stover
Madison Co. – Brent Drake
Meriwether Co. – Ryan Smith
Monroe Co. – Josh Ghann
Morgan Co. – Marty Adams
Morgan Co. – Shawn Hilsman
Murray Co. – Mike Russell
Murray Co. – Dick Lotspeich
Newton Co. – Kyle Callahan
Newton Co. – Ryan McQueen
Paulding Co. – Danny Corley
Paulding Co. – Phillip Yancey
Pickens Co. – Lamar Cantrell
Pickens Co. – Tyler Cantrell
Pulaski Co. – Randall Malone
Polk Co. – Roger Hajosy
Rockdale Co. – Bobby Bates
Spalding Co. – Erica Carpenter
Stephens Co. – Steven Thurman
Towns Co. – Matthew Allen
Towns Co. – Matthew Allen
Towns Co. – Donald Keys
Towns Co. – Matt Walls
Troup Co. – Steve Estes
Troup Co. – Cory Holloway
Troup Co. – Jeff Hudgins
Troup Co. – Jeff Hudgins
Troup Co. – Marty Duffey
Union Co. – Kenneth Grizzle
Walton Co. – Harold Palmer
Walton Co. – Ben Poole
Warren Co. – Galen Harrison
Warren Co. – Rusty James
Warren Co. – Timothy Landrum
Warren Co. – Floy Marr
Whitfield Co. – Leonard Caylor
Whitfield Co. – Leonard Caylor
Whitfield Co. – Jim Hensley
Whitfield Co. – Mike Russell
Whitfield Co. – Cline Souther
Worth Co. – James Bush
Worth Co. – John Cox
Worth Co. – Anthony Turner
97 Coyotes Total

Become a GON subscriber and enjoy full access to ALL of our content.

New monthly payment option available!


Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.